Detailed Guide to Football Bowl Subdivision

There’s no doubt that college football commands a cult following across the USA. The NCAA college football scene is divided into several divisions. These divisions might be confusing, but we will guide you and show you where your favorite college team belongs.

All college teams are arranged into three divisions. They include divisions I, II, and III. Division I, is further divided into the Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and the Championship Subdivision (FCS).

FBS is the top-most and most competitive division in college football. It consists of 11 conferences, including the Southeastern Conference (SEC), the Atlantic Conference (AAC), Big Ten, Pac 12, Big East, and Big 12. The FBS is where NFL teams’ source for quality players Here’s a breakdown of the well-known conferences.

The American Atlantic Conference (AAC)

The AAC features 12 universities from the Southern, Northeastern, and Mideastern regions. These teams include the Cincinnati Bearcats, Tulsa Golden Hurricane, SMU Mustangs, UConn Huskies, UCF Knights, Tulane Green Wave, Navy Midshipmen, East Carolina Pirates, Houston Cougars, Temple Owls, South Florida Bulls, and Navy Midshipmen. The Rivalry is aplenty, especially between Cincinnati and Memphis.

Big Ten Conference

This conference is the oldest in the NCAA and features some of the heavy boys in college football. It features mostly teams from the Midwest. Some of its 14 teams are Wisconsin Badgers, Minnesota Golden Gophers, Michigan Wolverines, Michigan State Spartans, Indiana Hoosiers, Ohio State Buckeyes, Purdue Boilermakers, Northwestern Wildcats, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Iowa Hawkeyes, Illinois Fighting Illini, Rutgers Scarlet Knights, and Penn State Nittany Lions.


Pac-12 is an intercollege athletic conference made up of schools mostly from Western USA. It was formerly referred to as Pac-10, but that changed with the entry of Utah and Colorado. Other teams represented include Stanford, University of California Berkeley, University of California Los Angeles, Washington State University, University of Washington, University of Oregon, Oregon State University, University of South California, Arizona State University, and the University of Arizona.